Edward Rich 1st Maryland Cavalry Co. E


I guess the thing I enjoy most reading about the civil war are the human interest stories. We tend to forget  that most of the soldiers were very young men. Trooper Edward Rich relates this funny story of trickery that happened in his camp:

 

“Never forget the first meeting with Harry Quinn. Harry walked up to me and said Say Pard, can’t you give an old soldier a pipe full of tobacco? His pipe was an ordinary one, so I reached for my pouch and pulled it out. With a sly twinkle of of his eye, Harry quietly put away his pipe and drew out another with a huge bowl which would hold a quarter of a pound. After emptying my pouch of it’s contents which only half filled his pipe he asked….is that all you got?  Well not quite said I, but that’s all you get!

 

Edward Rich was from Reistertown, Maryland and would later become an Episcopal Minister.  Rich would write about his civil war experiences and his book was first published in Easton, MD and was called Comrades. Later reprinted by the Neale Publishing company the book was re-titled Comrades Four.

Published in: on July 5, 2009 at 4:04 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://marylandreb.wordpress.com/2009/07/05/edward-rich-1st-maryland-cavalry-co-e/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I loved that story when you told me on Culps Hill. Good to see it in print!

    • I loved the good company and look forward to your return to the colonies! I enjoy our talks about the British empire.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

